BBCH December 2016 : Page 302

D E S T I N A T I O N W E DD I N G & H O N E Y M O O N we d d i n g Crossing A bride’s childhood dream came true when she married her high school sweetheart at an opulent wedding in the exotic environs of Dubai. By Rebecca Taras // Photography by Jacqui Nightscales BORDERS

Destination Weddings & Honeymoons Rosaline & Oludare

Rebecca Taras

Crossing Borders

A bride’s childhood dream came true when she married her high school sweetheart at an opulent wedding in the exotic environs of Dubai.

ROSELINE & OLUDARE
JANUARY 10, 2016
DUBAI, UNITED ARAB EMIRATES

High school sweethearts Roseline Omoseke and Oludare Alegbe met in Nigeria at the tender age of 14, and their bond only strengthened with time. Years later, Oludare proposed at his bachelor pad. The engagement was a quiet one, a memory the couple cherishes due to the special, intimate feeling of the moment shared only by the two of them.

A little less than a year later, the IT consultant married her entrepreneurial groom at the Four Seasons Resort Dubai at Jumeirah Beach—Dubai was a dream location on the bride’s bucket list since she was a child. As any nervous bride knows, it’s the hours and minutes leading up to showtime that can set the tone for the rest of the day. Roseline, who is originally from Chicago, says that something that made her day special was her solo time. “I really wanted to enjoy every moment of my makeup and play dress up while listening to Sade and having a glass of wine,” she says. “It was so relaxing, and it took the tension off me. I love my ladies, but I needed just a few hours to myself before the day commenced.”

Chicago-based Kesh Events worked with the couple to plan the spectacular destination wedding. The color story was simple yet elegant: all white with a hint of color on the stage backdrop where the ceremony took place. Paying homage to the couple’s roots, the bridesmaids wore gowns from Toju Foyeh, a Nigerian-based designer. Dressed in a stunning Vera Wang gown and veil, Roseline met her Tom Ford-clad groom at the end of aisle, where they exchanged their own vows and participated in Yoruba and Edo traditions—originating from the Nigerian tribe—for the blessing ceremony.

The seaside view in the Dana Ballroom—where the reception took place—was the perfect complement to the classic-style reception the bride wished for. Commanding rose and hydrangea centerpieces graced the tables where guests dined on lamb tagine with jollof rice and a side of plantains. Along with a vanilla and chocolate wedding cake with caramel filling, there was also a sweets table filled with additional delicacies, including Tahitian vanilla custard, Gianduja cake and assorted macarons. DJ Yoossouph kept the party going into the wee hours of the night, where a guest couple danceoff took place. The pair jetted off to Kempinski Seychelles Resort for their honeymoon, but Roseline says, “We were so tired, I think we slept through the honeymoon!”

The List

Venue Four Seasons Resort Dubai at Jumeirah Beach, fourseasons.com/dubaijb

Planner Akeshi Akinseye, Kesh Events, keshevents.com

Flowers & Decor Alissar Flowers International, alissarflowers.com

Bride’s Gown Vera Wang, verawang.com

Bride’s Veil Vera Wang, verawang.com Bride’s Shoes Miu Miu, miumiu.com

Bridesmaids’ Dresses Toju Foyeh, tojufoyeh@gmail.com

Groom’s Tux Tom Ford, tomford.com

Music Ceremony: Music Expertise, musicexpertise.com; reception: DJ Yoossouph, djyoossouph.com

Videographer Philipe Carvalho, Mirar Productions, mirarproductions.com

What We’ve Learned

“Don’t overthink the occasion,” says Roseline. “Once you feel something is right, it is right.”

Read the full article at http://digital.modernluxury.com/article/Destination+Weddings+%26+Honeymoons+Rosaline+%26+Oludare/2663725/367934/article.html.

Previous Page  Next Page


Publication List
Using a screen reader? Click Here